A Google Jocky? Please do explain…

I came across this from Dear Librarian, an edublog.  To view this blog in it’s entirety, click here.  Interesting…

“A “google jockey” is the person who finds information–usually from the web–to help support a lesson, lecture, or event. Say a fact is needed to help support understanding–the google jockey hops on to the Internet and finds a fact.”

While I have yet to try this, not teaching any classes at the moment, I can see great potential using this in your classes.  As we think about how we can create more student centered classrooms having students search the Internet for resources related to the content could be very powerful.  They could see there are other resources than the teacher or the textbook, and what’s more likely to happen is that they will find richer ressources they can then share with the rest of the class.  This would also be a great way to get them thinking about online research and the reliability of resources, as well as how to cite resources when they share them.

If you have a chance, please check out the post by Dear Librarian.

7 thoughts on “A Google Jocky? Please do explain…

  1. And….what do you think? Do you use this technique? Do you appoint a student to serve as a “google jockey?” Do you find yourself acting as a “google jockey” in certain situations?

    Also, I appreciate you linking back to me, but what was the purpose of this post? I noticed you copied in my entire work, so I’m left wondering why….

    • I think this is a great way to get students involved in the class (student researchers, online literacy), which is why I posted the post. I have not tried this in my classroom, since currently and at the time, I do not have a classroom to try it in. I think some of my teachers were going to try it but I’m not sure if they did or not.

      The purpose of my blog at the time was to share resources with other teachers in my school. Being the only technology support person in my district, I rarely had enough time to add to many posts unless it was something specific to what my school was doing, which is why your post was used in its entirety. I thought the post did the topic justice and I didn’t have any more to add. By no means was I trying to take credit for your work or pass it off as my own, which is why I linked back to the article.

      Thanks for commenting.

    • I have edited the post to include quotation marks. If there are additional changes you would like me to consider, please leave a comment. Again, thanks for visiting.

      • Oop! It’s been done. Great post. You went into the heart of why I find “Google jockeying” so important. Thank you.

        Ann

  2. Oh gosh! I don’t think you should take the whole post down! I appreciated you linking back to me and then simply quoting me. Also, I’m happy to hear your opinion of the teaching/researching instruction. I was hoping to hear what you thought of it. Alongside your comment was another comment criticizing the “Google-ness” of the term, so I was curious to see what you thought of the “jockey” position.

    Please don’t take it down. The ways that you have fixed it are appropriate. Blogging, in my opinion, is about sharing–which you have–and the conversation during the share–which we are now having.

    So, back to “Google jockeying,” do you do it? I know in meetings as an adult, I do this. Of all things it actually helps me to stay focused on the content of the meeting. If I didn’t go out researching to support what I’m listening to, I think I’d get stir crazy. By researching topics that I’m listening to, it helps me to interact with information which in turn helps my attention span as well as learning of the subject matter.

    How about you?

    Ann

    • I do this in nearly all my meetings. If there is a question or something no one knows in the meeting, it is much more productive to Google it and learn whatever you need, and then move on with your conversation. I think for students this is all the more important, because much of what they are doing in school, hopefully, is new to them so naturally they will have a lot of questions. I know that one of the teachers at my previous school was going to do more of this since she received a classroom set of iPod Touches. Now with the wider availability of of smartphones, this should be all the more common. (Assuming school policy can allow smartphones in the classroom)

      Whether or not Google is the search engine of choice is really up to the end user. I like it but some may like another more. I’m not sure what the person that posted the comment about the Google-ness of the term is getting at, but I think it can be applied to to any situation. Someone could be a Bing Jockey or a Yahoo Jockey, but I would imagine most people would relate to a Google Jockey the most, since it is the most popular search engine.

Leave a Reply

