Monitoring your online presence: My experience

At the start of the school year I decided to begin monitoring my online presence.  I felt it was important to know when information about me was posted for public view on the Internet, since I was beginning to expand how much I interacted online.  So I created a Google Alert for my name and was pretty unimpressed with what appeared.  Most of the updates were tweets and new blog posts, that is until yesterday.  Yesterday I saw an update that was inappropriate and beyond my control.  I was surprised to see my name plastered on a Web page with inappropriate words, but in the end, I’m glad I was notified about it.  Knowing is half the battle and now if anyone ever stumbles across this Web page and approaches me about it, I’m prepared to address the issue with them.  Anyone who knows me knows I wouldn’t engage in something so vulgar and inappropriate and will hopefully dismiss it as spam.  But this is the nature of the Internet and the world we live in, which is why it’s important to educate everyone, young and old, about how to manage their online presence.  What are others saying about me and how will this effect me?  Not sure some people think about this when they post to social networks, but as we move to a more connected and social society, this will prove to be a literacy everyone needs to know.

Interested in setting up a Google Alert? Check this site out.  Just enter your name (or other search term) and fill out how often you want to be updated, the method for receiving updates, and the type of results you want. Then click “Create Alert.”  That’s all there is to it.

Do you monitor your online presence?  If so, explain your experiences to keep the conversation going.

Leave a Reply

