My problem with #FF

I understand the need to share who we think are valuable people to follow on Twitter and the positive networking and generation of new ideas, but what bothers me about #FF is that I have to take a break from my PLN because that’s all anyone is tweeting.  I find very little value in the morning on Fridays, which is usually when I devote time to my PLN (I do a few minutes every morning).  Maybe I just need to participate a little bit more, but from what I can tell based on my experiences over the last few months, I should just as well find something else to do on Friday mornings and wait to check out my PLN until later in the day.  Perhaps the value comes later from the increased networking that takes place.  Not sure.

Am I missing something?  If so, leave a comment and help me learn!!

2 thoughts on “My problem with #FF

  1. Dan,
    I, too, was once annoyed by twitter traditions such as #followfriday. Someone suggested to me that I simply un-follow these people (or anyone else for that matter) who clutters up my feed. After all, the “p” in PLN stands for “personal” – it’s up to us to customize it to our learning needs. Does this make any sense?

    • Matt,

      I’ve been thinking about that a lot lately, customizing my PLN a bit more. I think I’m at the point where my interests are changing, which means I need to change my focus. Finding resources is no longer my biggest priority, as much as having conversations around how we can use those resources to improve learning. Maybe I need to organize the people I follow and create lists I can follow based on the mood I’m in that day. Not sure, but I think you’re right, I need to customize it to my needs a little bit more.

      Have a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

