iPads!!!

I GOT AN IPAD!!!! I’ve been wanting one since I left Cherokee and I finally received one as part of the grant. All the faculty and some of the staff in the grant received an iPad to help with the mobility needs we have with the pilot project. While I will certainly take advantage of the mobility aspects of the iPad, I also have other motives I wish to fulfill with this new technology. So over the next few months I will be publishing an iPad Blog Series that highlights a useful and educationally relevant aspect of the iPad. In particular I think I will focus on two areas. The first will be content creation. One of the biggest criticisms I’ve heard about the iPad has been that it isn’t a content creation device, when I think that just isn’t true. There are loads of creation apps available, but the key is knowing how to leverage those in a meaningful way. The second area I focus on will be content consumption. While I think there are a number of content creation uses for the iPad, there are also a number of content consumption ways to use the iPad, which is equally valuable. I’m going to try to do a new series post every week. They will likely be short and to the point. I encourage you to add your thoughts, provide push back, and to ask questions, as this will help make the series more meaningful and interesting for everyone. If there is something you’d like to see me try, just leave a comment and let me know. If it’s free I’ll likely give it a try and if the app doesn’t cost too much and looks like something I’ll use, I’ll likely buy it.

Oh, by the way, this blog post was created using the WordPress app which is free. The WordPress app is an app that allows you to view your blog posts, comments, pages, stats, AS WELL AS, post new posts, which can include file attachments, video, and images. Enjoy the picture below of me taken with the forward facing camera!

20110608-035454.jpg

Leave a Reply

