Make time for the important things…

I’ve been busy lately.  If you come here often, you’ve probably noticed that I haven’t done much writing this month.  In fact, this is only my second post this month, but I’ve been busy and writing on my blog hasn’t been the most pressing thing lately.  I mean, c’mon, I have two small children, a busy job, and I’m a doc student!  You’re probably thinking, “Stop complaining, everybody’s busy, suck it up!”  We are all busy in our own ways and as I’ve said before, when you add something to your daily routine, you have to give something up.  Essentially, you make time for the things that are important to YOU!

This is essentially what I’ve done for my doc classes.  I have a professional goal that I want to achieve and I’ve committed to waking up early to do my readings and other homework for my courses.  This may seem like a small commitment for many of you, but for me 5am would have been out of the question a few years ago.  Now, let’s apply this to the classroom.

We are all busy and have only so much time in the day to devote to our courses.  However, sometimes, a new innovation comes along that we are really interested in and want to pursue.  But where do we find the time?  The truth is we prioritize what’s important and make the time.  Just like I’m giving up sleep, you too may have to give up something you really like or want to do.  It’s part of change and part of becoming a better teacher.  You may not want to do it, but if the innovation is something you really believe in and something you think will help you be more effective or improve student achievement, then you make the difficult decision to make the time where you can.  Because in the end, it’s not about you, it’s about what’s best for your students.

As an aside, if any of you know of a good way to stay awake that doesn’t include drinking coffee, PLEASE leave a comment!!!

2 thoughts on “Make time for the important things…

  1. I have too think about your quote:”it’s not about you, it’s about whats best for your students.” I kinda disagree with that statement. I think I would say it’s whats best for some of your students. Nobody likes a “ragged-out” instructor… especially me. But, if your students are worth their “salt”, they’ll realize it’s their responsibility to work as hard,if not harder, than you to gain the knowledge that you also have to work for.

    I applaud your efforts. I made my living in the oil fields. It was 24/7, but I only had to prove my worth to myself. That was a lot easier than teaching. And its not the education required to be you that takes so much, its the having to prove your worth to so many that would be so difficult.

    I’m glade there are folks like you that want to teach folks like me. My Professors give me 100% … I try to give them 110% back. I figure its a good trade-off.

    Ok … I’ve had my say. Again, I applaud your efforts, but know when enough is enough.

    Other than coffee, pure adrenaline works … if not that … well??????
    You take care up there in “corn” country.
    Bye!!

    • You make a good point that students have to be willing to put forth an effort, but I think you make an assumption that as the instructor I have knowledge to give my students, when that isn’t really the case. Rather, students need to construct their own knowledge as it relates to them through their experiences. While it’s true no one wants a worn down instructor, it’s important to note that I’m not advocating that teachers work all day and night to create new experiences for their students. Rather, I’m advocating for removing things they currently do in their courses that may no longer be relevant for their students, thus ineffective.

      Through my experiences, one of the biggest hurdles teachers go through when adopting an innovation is that they simply add the innovation to what they are already doing. While that works up to a point, eventually the teacher gets overloaded and can do no more. My point here is to say that as a teacher, you need to be critical of what experiences you create for your students. Are there components that no longer are as effective as they once were? What can you eliminate from your day to free up the time you need to create new, innovative experiences that have a better chance of effectiveness for your students? If you can do that, then you have a chance of doing some really amazing things with your students, but it requires a little bit of give and take.

      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

