WE aren’t very good at using technology in the curriculum

WE aren’t very good at using technology in the curriculum. WE just aren’t. And if you were wondering who WE are, that would be you and I, primary, secondary, and higher education. WE just haven’t figured it out yet. AND the way we approach “solving” the “problem” is simply misguided, because instead of approaching a curricular problem from the perspective of the curriculum, WE have decided that the best approach would be to invest in everything…but the curriculum. There are likely many out there that will say, “We invest heavily in the curriculum. Just look at (enter investment here)!” Most schools would say this. Which wouldn’t? The problem, though, is that WE don’t change the curriculum in any real way. Sure we may Skype with other schools across the nation or even give each student an iPad or laptop, but really, how much has the enacted and thus the experienced curriculum changed? I mean really changed?

I think we all know the answer, even if we don’t want to admit it. This is usually the point when I’d say there are pockets of hope here and there, but I’m not going to and that’s because everyone thinks they are that glimmer of light in the despair of our education system. Well your not, and I’m certainly not. This is because for every rockstar teacher who has changed for the better and is making a difference, there are exponentially more teachers who haven’t change, who view the SYSTEM with skepticism and suspect new innovations and ideas even more. YOU have them, I have them, WE ALL have them and in nearly all cases WE don’t do anything about them. They simply are overlooked. Passed over. Never to be seen or heard from again…except by the poor souls who have to have them as a teacher, and they can’t do anything. They have NO power and WE have ALL the power. WE don’t listen to them, even though our sole purpose is them.

While I can’t specifically address the needs of students anywhere, I can help address the needs of our society, which in my context are K12 schools. I work with people who want to be teachers. That’s why they come to UNI. So here’s what I am going to do. First, I’m going to make an explicit effort to determine the needs of our students. What do they need in order to learn and what can I do to help? Second, what does society need from us in order to prepare better students? This has many layers and one I’m going to tackle is what are schools doing that new teachers need to be ready for day one? Finally, I’m going to help faculty at UNI begin to change their curriculum so that they can meet the needs of learners and society. Maybe then we can start to have forward progress, real progress instead of this facade we have all come to recognize as progress, as change.

So that’s what I’m going to do…what are YOU going to do?

Leave a Reply

